Imperial ence.

Leading journalists from Canada took a prominent part in the proceedings of the Imperial Press Conference, which was Press Confer- held in London as the capital of the Empire from June 7-26. The conference discussed questions of much interest, especially those relating to imperial defence.

Champlain ter-centenary in United States.

Canada was represented by the Hon. Rodolphe Lemieux at the Champlain ter-centenary celebrations held in the United States on July 7 and 8 at Burlington, Vermont, and Plattsburg, New York.

General thanksgiving.

Monday, October 25, was observed as a day of general thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest and all other blessings with which Canada has been favoured during the year.

Privy Councillors.

To be members of the Privy Council: Raoul Dandurand and Robert Franklin Sutherland. June 2. William Lyon Mackenzie King.

The Senate.

New Senators appointed and sworn in were the Hon. Noë Chevrier of Winnipeg, the Hon. Valentine Ratz of Parkhill, Ontario, the Hon. Arthur Boyer of Montreal the Hon. Benjamin Prince of Battleford, Saskatchewan, the Hon. Edward Matthew Farrell of Liverpool, Nova Scotia, and the Hon. William Roche of Halifax, Nova Scotia.

House of Commons.

Twelve vacancies occurred in the House of Commons during the year, and the following members were elected to fill them, viz : John Best for Dufferin, Ontario; Martin Burrell for Yale, Frederick Tennyson Congdon for Yukon, Cariboo, B.C.; Yukon Territory; James McCrie Douglas for Strathcona, Alberta; Edmond Fortier for Lotbinière, Quebec; Arthur Samuel Goodeve for Kootenay, B.C.; Edward Kidd for Carleton, Ontario; David A. Lafortune, K.C., for Montcalm, province of Quebec; James William Maddin for Cape Breton South, Nova Scotia; Duncan Campbell Ross, for Middlesex West, Ontario; the Hon. William Templeman for Comox-Atlin, B.C.; Oliver James Wilcox for Essex North, Ontario.

Obituary notes.

The following deaths occurred during the year: March 18. The Hon. Sir James Robert Gowan, K.C.M.G., aged 94. The Hon. Daniel Lionel Hannington, judge of the superior court of New Brunswick. June 16. The Hon. Joseph Rosaire Thibaudeau. July 15. The Hon. William Dell Perley. 21. Wilbert McIntyre, M.P. for Strathcona, Alberta. August 9. J. F. Whiteaves, LL.D., F.R.S.C., assistant director, Geological Survey. August 22. Robert Reid, commissioner, Transcontinental Railway. August 31. The Right Hon. Sir Samuel Henry Strong, formerly chief justice of the supreme court of Canada, aged 84. September 4. The Hon. Donald Ferguson. October 1. The Hon. John Joseph Curran, judge of the superior court of Quebec. October 7. Brigadier-General Lawrence Buchan, C. V.O., C.M.G., October 11. The Hon. Sir Henri Taschereau, chief